Take the 2-minute tour ×
TeX - LaTeX Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of TeX, LaTeX, ConTeXt, and related typesetting systems. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Any changes applied to the TeXstudio preferences vanish after the program was closed. Saving and loading them via a user profile is possible, though imho quite complicated. Does anybody know that problem or can guess its cause? Maybe TeXstudio has not enough rights to save the changes. I'll be thankful for any hints.

share|improve this question

closed as off-topic by Joseph Wright Mar 1 at 22:58

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "This question does not fall within the scope of TeX, LaTeX or related typesetting systems as defined in the help center." – Joseph Wright
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

1  
Changes are saved to texstudio.ini. Its location depends on your OS (Link). Check the rights and if the file is actually modified when closing TXS. –  Tim Hoffmann Apr 11 '13 at 20:06
    
@ Tim, google takes one here, would you like to add this as an answer? –  PatrickT Feb 15 at 5:19

1 Answer 1

According to TeXstudio FAQ (Where are the settings stored?) for the installer versions the configuration file is stored in local user directories, where by definition a user has writing rights. When this does not work, you have a serious problem, but this does not come within the scope of TeX.SE. The portable version can be extracted almost everywhere on a system. If this was done by you, you needed writing rights back in time, but if it was done by another one, let’s say an administrator, and you weren’t granted writing rights for this directory, then this is some kind of misconfiguration, and this is also not on-topic on TeX.SE.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.