Sign up ×
TeX - LaTeX Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of TeX, LaTeX, ConTeXt, and related typesetting systems. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm desperately trying to use the Mayan math symbols I found listed in the Comprehensive LaTeX Symbols List. The document says that these symbols can be used this way (page 65):

Table 200:
Mayan Digits
0  \maya{0}
1  \maya{1}
2  \maya{2}
3  \maya{3}
4  \maya{4}
5  \maya{5}

I've added \usepackage{mathabx} at the top of my document and tried using as a test \maya{3} and then $\maya{3}$ in my document but get this error:

! Undefined control sequence.
\maya ...mayacnter =#1 \setbox 0\hbox {\mathbfont 
                                                  0}\mayawidth =\wd 0 \left ...
l.91 $\maya{3}

Any suggestions on what I'm doing wrong here? I'm not able to find any example documents online showing how to use this correctly.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 9 down vote accepted

One has to provide an appropriate definition for \mathbfont:







enter image description here

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.