TeX - LaTeX Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of TeX, LaTeX, ConTeXt, and related typesetting systems. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

As per the second part of this question, I want to remove the comma from the end of the authors in my in-line citations, e.g., Doe et al., 2013 -> Doe et al. 2013. The solution is to redefine \nameyeardelim:


However, this causes

! LaTeX Error: \nameyeardelim undefined.

I'm using natbib with the default options. How can I overcome this error to remove the comma between the last author and year in my in-line citations?

share|improve this question
You should be able to use \setcitestyle{aysep={}}. – Adam Liter Aug 27 '13 at 20:43
Thank you @Adam, that solved it! – drs Aug 27 '13 at 23:01
up vote 1 down vote accepted

The natbib package provides the \setcitestyle{} command. The argument that this command takes is a comma-separated list of keywords. One of these, aysep, controls the punctuation between the author and the year. (See p. 12 of the natbib documentation for the other keywords.)

So, to solve your problem, use \setsitestlye{aysep={}}.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.