Take the 2-minute tour ×
TeX - LaTeX Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of TeX, LaTeX, ConTeXt, and related typesetting systems. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This question already has an answer here:

Every time I save a file (having previewed it) in TeXShop, it saves five different files (.aux, .log, .pdf, .synctex.gz, and .tex). Is there a way to change the setting so that it only saves the .tex file? Or the .tex file and .pdf file?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by Alan Munn, egreg, Guido, Jubobs, Werner Nov 30 '13 at 0:26

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

    
Well there is the option of removing the auxiliary files after compilation from File->Remove Aux Files... –  azetina Nov 29 '13 at 23:45
    
@Jeroen Tools->Clean Auxiliary Files... –  azetina Nov 30 '13 at 0:04
    
@azetina: Thanks, I found it. –  Jeroen Nov 30 '13 at 0:07

1 Answer 1

.log and .aux files are produced by TeX or LaTeX and are very important. You will see it, making more complicated documents. For example, the .aux file is useful when creating bibliographies.

Generally they a small, so there's no need of removing them during the work on a document.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.