I'm using biblatex 1.4b, and Biber 0.9. However, I think the problem is with my settings, not with the versions of those programs.

I'm trying to cite a single author, and produce their name, followed by the dates of two papers, using the authoryear-ibid style, and natbib compatability. Here's my biblatex preamble:


What I want is for the following command: The works by \citet{Blau81, Blau88} ... to produce: The works by Blau (1981; 1988) ... however, what I'm getting is: The works by Blau (1981); Blau (1988)...

I know that biblatex knows they're the same author, since in the bibliography they fall under the same name (i.e. after the first instance of the name, there's just a dash instead of the name)

What am I doing wrong here? I've also tried it with the commands \cite and \cites, and neither produces what I want.

(crossposted with comp.text.tex)

  • Welcome to tex.sx! It's not necessary to sign your questions (as there is already a box with your username below it) or to begin them with a greeting. Another hint: Always provide a minimal working example. Doing so you increase the chance to get valuable answers.
    – Thorsten
    Commented May 12, 2011 at 5:14

2 Answers 2


You want the authoryear-icomp citation style, instead of authoryear-ibid. From the biblatex manual: "[authoryear-comp is a] compact variant of the authoryear style which prints the author only once if subsequent references passed to a single citation command share the same author." (p. 61) The authoryear-icomp style combines -comp and -ibid.


In addition to switching to the authoryear-icomp style, you might also want to change the delimiter for "compressed" multiple citations to a semicolon (instead of the default comma) plus an interword space:


EDIT: The above tweak is especially useful if you suppress the page prefix for citation postnotes (with \DeclareFieldFormat{postnote}{#1}, \DeclareFieldFormat{multipostnote}{#1}), resulting in e.g.

Sengupta and Tipple 2007, 2009

instead of

Sengupta and Tipple 2007, p. 2009

This way it is clear that "2009" is the page cited* and not another works by the same author(s) as in

Sengupta and Tipple 2007; 2009

* Here's the link to the abstract of the actual article starting at p. 2009.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .