I would like to know the name (code) of fonts in (La)TeX. Let me explain myself:

When I want to import a symbol from a different font, I type something like

\DeclareFontFamily{U} {cmsy}{}

Here cmsy is the (La)TeX encoding, (La)TeX name, (La)TeX code or whatever you want for the family Computer Modern (which is set by default in LaTeX).

If I want to import a symbol from the mathabxpackage (in this case subsetsymbol) I can write


Now the code is matha.

My question is:

Suppose I want to import a single character from Century Modern TT font. What code has it in (La)TeX? Which is the equivalent for cmsy and matha in any other font?

marked as duplicate by Dog_69, Andrew Swann, CarLaTeX, Community Feb 1 '18 at 13:52

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.