The February 2020 release of LaTeX introduced a \swdefault command for working with "swash" text which, unfortunately, breaks the allrunes package, which has a \swdefault command of its own. Now any attempt to typeset a LaTeX document that uses allrunes fails with "! LaTeX Error: Command \swdefault already defined."

Until allrunes is updated to no longer have this command, how can one typeset text in runes/futhark? If the answer involves extracting individual glyphs from the package, the ones I'm interested in are \textarc{d} (ᛞ, U+16DE) and \textarc{w} (ᚹ, U+16B9).


2 Answers 2


allrunes will need a real overhaul to make it compatible with the improved series handling in LaTeX. But if you need only the two symbols you mentioned you can try something like this:

   <5><6><7><8><9><10><10.95><12><14.4><17.28><20.74><24.88><29.86><35.83> #5}{}}

\newcommand{\DeclareRuneSeparators}[1]{} %if needed copy the whole definition


abc \textarc{d} \textarc{w}

enter image description here


You can use the sty file from here: arXiv-safe. It replaces allrunes.dtx

\swdefault has been renamed to \swdefaultpatch

The simplest is to save it to your working directory.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .